Register for the UIA National Summit HERE!

  • We are a coalition of research
    universities with a public mission.
  • We are committed to increasing the number and diversity of college graduates.
  • Working to remove boundaries for low-income students, first generation students and students of color.
  • We innovate together.
  • We share ideas, successes and failures.
  • With a mission to raise graduation rates across the country.
  • When universities collaborate students win.

Our Commitment

The University Innovation Alliance is the leading national coalition of public research universities committed to increasing the number and diversity of college graduates in the United States.

We share a sense of urgency about this work because we are public universities with a public mission. Higher education needs to do a better job of graduating students across the socioeconomic spectrum, particularly low-income students, first-generation students, and students of color.

Raising graduation rates is imperative for individual social mobility and U.S. global competitiveness.

For too long, colleges and universities wasted time and resources trying to solve this graduation challenge by themselves. It was inefficient and ineffective, and students paid the price. In 2014, we flipped the script. We decided to innovate together. We set ambitious goals, opened up our data, and agreed to share everything we learn.

Our Member Institutions

Member Institutions
  • Arizona State University

    Michael Crow, President

  • Georgia State University

    M. Brian Blake, President

  • Iowa State University

    Wendy Wintersteen, President

  • Michigan State University

    Kevin M. Guskiewicz, President

  • North Carolina A&T State University

    Harold L. Martin Sr., Chancellor

  • The Ohio State University

    Walter "Ted" Carter, Jr. , President

  • Oregon State University

    Jayathi Y. Murthy, President

  • Purdue University

    Mung Chiang, President

  • University at Buffalo

    Satish K. Tripathi, President

  • University of California Riverside

    Kim A. Wilcox, Chancellor

  • University of Central Florida

    Alexander Cartwright, President

  • University of Colorado Denver

    Michelle Marks, Chancellor

  • University of Illinois Chicago

    Marie Lynn Miranda, Chancellor

  • UMBC - University of Maryland, Baltimore County

    Valerie Sheares Ashby, President

  • University of Massachusetts Amherst

    Javier A. Reyes, Chancellor

  • University of New Mexico

    Garnett S. Stokes, President

  • University of Utah

    Taylor Randall, President

  • Virginia Commonwealth University

    Michael Rao, President

Stay Current! Check out our Blog Go Now

or check our videos YouTube